Apple Juice Battered Onion Rings

20131227-001440.jpg

I saw this done on tv a while back but wanted mine a bit crispier with more seasoning. I love onion rings but I am not too crazy about fried foods so I rarely make them. They taste better than they look, haha. I was working in my mother’s kitchen for the holiday break and could not find the proper tools to get the onion rings out efficiently.

1 1/2 cup of all purpose flour
1/4 cup of plain bread crumbs
1 beaten egg
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of garlic powder
1 pinch of pepper
1 cup of apple juice (the better the quality the better the apple flavor!)
1 tablespoon of oil
2 onions
Oil for frying

1. Mix the the dry ingredients (flour, breadcrumbs, salt, pepper, and garlic powder) in one bowl.
2. Mix the wet ingredients (beaten egg, tbsp of oil, and apple juice) in a separate bowl. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients bowl and mix well. It should be a slightly brown batter.
3. Slice your onions into rings or “chips”. After doing both rings and small chips (big chunks of onion) I realized that I prefer the chip form. Quicker to fry and the batter stays on better for me.
4. Heat your oil in a pan (I used a “deep” frying pan) over medium low heat. It is imperative that your oil is hot enough to fry the onions once they hit the pan or else you will have an oil soaked side item!
5. Coat your onions rings/chips with the batter and place a few into the pan (no more than 4-5 rings at a time). Once you see the batter browning on the bottom flip them!
6. When the rings/chips are browned to your desire place them over paper towels or a rack to “drain” of oil (which is why I dislike frying foods, lol).

These bad boys are best eaten hot. I like dipping mine in a honey mustard sauce (simply 1/4 cup of mustard and 2 tbsp of honey). I shared these with my family as a late night snack.

Leave a Reply

