Yum!

20140221-115528.jpg

Tuesday night I cooked at a friend’s house and concocted a sweet tomato sauce for a spinach fettuccine. The sauce was originally a caramelized onion tomato sauce from Harris Teeter (they have really good pasta sauces btw!). I made caramelized sweet onions with local honey and herb butter to add to the sauce. I also added sautéed onions, orange bell pepper, broccoli, cilantro, tofurkey sausage, mushrooms and tomatoes. I personally believe the key to the perfect tomato sauce is how long you let it simmer. For the garlic bread I purchases a fresh loaf of sourdough bread from our local co-op Weaver Street. After cutting 1 inch slices, I buttered it with herb butter, sprinkled (heavy) garlic powder and added grated Romano Parmesan cheeses. I broiled the bread slices until they were golden brown.

I may write a recipe for the caramelized onions since they are such an easy way to make a dish pop and so delicious.

Leave a Reply

