Heavenly

So it was an amazingly beautiful Sunday in Honolulu (per usual), so I really wanted to have brunch.  My friend and I searched Yelp and came across this brunch spot attached to a hotel with outdoor seating.  If you know me, you know I love to eat outdoors.  I love the scenery whether it is overlooking water or the city, it truly does something to my heart.  So obviously, I was sold to go to this spot.

Heavenly is smack dab in the middle of downtown where congestion, crowds, and cars are very prominent, I mean it is a city.  A lot of people come to Hawaii expecting a paradise (which it is) but sometimes end up surprised by the amount of congestion and true city experience they receive.  Heavenly is attached to a modern, savvy hotel downtown and has indoor and outdoor seating.  The restaurant is fairly small but the decor and open layout makes up for that loss.  The walls are lined with familiar island decorum, wood, surfboards and the such.  You will forget that you are in the middle of the city.

For brunch that day I did the Local Farm Eggs Benedict: Salmon and Spinach option and a cup of coffee (always). The food was very fresh and everything seemed to melt in my mouth.  I was really pleased with the purple potato (Okinawan sweet potato) slices that were just sweet enough to accompany my meal.  I really don’t like sweet breakfasts.  I am usually the type to avoid pancakes and french toast in their entirety unless I am really craving them so the sweet potatoes were just enough for me.  The coffee was local and fresh which was perfect for me.  I like to think of myself as a faux coffee connoisseur anyways and they lived up to my expectations of a roasty, deep, smooth house coffee blend.

All in all I loved the meal I got.  I will be going back to Heavenly soon.

Leave a Reply

