Sweetened Rum Brine

So this week I had a pair of healthy turkey legs sitting around waiting to get baked.  I’ve also liked turkey legs and since I’ve recently returned to eating meat I couldn’t wait to prepare them.  The last time I had a turkey leg it was at the fair…in North Carolina…around 4-5 years ago. So, this was a great opportunity for me to get that back home craving I haven’t had in years.

The thing about turkey, well most poultry, is that you cannot eat it undercooked and if you overcook it (which is easily done), you are left with dry, chewy meat that can barely be saved by a gravy.  Seeing that this was my first time ever cooking turkey legs I did not want them to fall into that dry turkey nightmare.  After a bit of investigating I came across people using brines versus marinades for their turkey legs (can be used for other meats too).  So I had some rum and other ingredients and decided to make a sweet rum brine because why not?

Of course please edit this recipe based up on the amount of poultry you are using. I had two large healthy turkey legs and wanted to make sure the brine was concentrated enough to penetrate the meat.

Enough water to submerge your meat (I used about 2-3 quarts)
1/4 cup of rum
1/4 brown or white sugar
3 tbsp of salt
1 bay leaf
Splash of white vinegar

1. Put the ingredients into a pot and bring to a boil then reduce heat.

2. After making sure the sugar and salt are dissolved put the brine to the side to cool. (You don’t want to pour hot liquid on raw meat.)

3. Place your meat in a container or ziploc bag where the brine will cover them entirely.  Pour cooled brine into container/ziploc with the meat.

4. Refrigerate your meat.  I suggest letting your poultry spend the night in the brine or you could do 2hrs per pound of meat you have.

5. After your poultry has been submerged in the brine for a set amount of time you can remove it, pat dry, season and cook as desired.

Leave a Reply

